site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fiction - Top 8 Books like The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Top 8 Books like The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The novel is written by Khaled Hosseini, an Afghan-American writer in 2003 and it is based on the story of a young boy named Amir. He belongs to Wazir Akbar Khan district of Kabul and his closest friend is Hassan who is the servant of his father. Events from Soviet military invasion to the rise of Taliban regime and then United States invasion and refuge of people in Pakistan are mentioned in the book. A father-son story containing elements of guilt and redemption are prominent features of the novel. Some more books like The Kite Runner are listed below.

1. The First Man in Rome

The First Man in Rome

It is the first novel in the series of novels “Masters of Rome” written by Colleen McCullough. Many historical characters of the Roman Republic e.g. Gaius Marius, Lucius Cornelius Sulla, Quintus Caecilius Metellus and Publius Rutilius etc. are featured in this novel. Majorly the rise of Marius and his marriage to Julia along with his taking over the army as general and winning wars is main plot of the novel.

2. Roma

Saylor Roma Cover

Steven Saylor’s Roma was published in 2007 and it follows two Roman families Potitii and Pinarii that happen to bear witness to and in some cases participate to Rome’s greatest historical events. Historical facts are intertwined with Roman myths in a wonderfully pleasant way in this novel.

3. Winter of the World

Winter of the World

This is a novel based on a family saga covering interrelated experience of American, Russian, German and English families in the 20th century to start with. Welsh-born writer Ken Follett published this novel in 2012 and it is a part of the Century Trilogy by the author. Generations of these families is followed in the sequels of the trilogy.

4. The Glory

The Glory

It is a sequel to “The Hope”, a novel written by American writer Herman Wouk. Yom Kippur War is the main plot of the novel where some fictional characters and real-life notable characters are intertwined along with the facts. Some important facts mentioned in the novel are sinking of Eilat by Soviet rockets, The War of Attrition, The Yom Kippur War and Operation Entebbe.

5. The King’s Curse

The King’s Curse

Philippa Gregory wrote this novel in 2014 and it is the story of Margaret Pole, Countess of Salisbury. King Henry VII of England keeps his cousin Margaret at a distance but marriage of his son Arthur, Prince of Wales with Katherine of Aragon (Spanish Princess) causes her out of obscurity. This novel is part of Philippa Gregory’s series “The Cousins’ War”.

6. The Book Thief

The Book Thief

Written by Austrian writer Markus Zusak, this novel was published in 2005 and has been featured on The New York Times Best Seller list for over 200 weeks. It features World War II Germany, where nine-year-old girl Liesel Meminger faces the death of her brother and goes to her new foster parents. The family is put in more danger when her foster family hides a Jewish man Max but her foster father encourages her to read and write. She soon realizes the power of writing and not only write but steal the books that the Nazis’ are looking to destroy.

7. Wolf Hall

Wolf Hall

This novel is written by English writer named Hilary mantel in 2005 and it is set in the period of 1500 to 1535. This fictional biography features the rapid rise of Thomas Cromwell to power in the court of Henry VIII and the death of Sir Thomas More. It is the first novel in the series followed by a second novel in 2012 titled “Bring Up the Bodies”.

8. The Samurai

The Samurai

It is a novel by Japanese writer Shusaku Endo published in 1980 and it tell its readers about a fictional story that took place in 17th century diplomatic mission by Japanese to Nueva Espana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *