site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fiction - Top 6 Books Like A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Top 6 Books Like A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Author of this novel Khaled Hosseini has already written a bestseller ‘The Kite Runner’ and he follows it up with another astonishing story that mesmerizes the readers. ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ is the story of Mariam and Laila. Both have nothing in common but the events make them marry the same man and Laila is resented by Mariam until they are both able to form a bond that acts as heart of this novel. Following are few readalike suggestions that the fans of ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ are likely to love.

1- The 19th Wife

The 19th Wife

In this novel by David Ebershoff, two parallel stories are unfolded from the perspective of Ann Eliza Young who is the 19th rebellious wife of Mormon founder Brigham Young and Jordan Scott, mother of whom has been accused of killing his father. Jordan by making use of the supporters tries to unveil the mystery of his father’s murder although he was excommunicated from church when he was only fourteen. Ann Eliza Scott pressurized Mormon Church to get polygamy banned accomplished back in 1890. This novel looks into the details of polygamy in the past and the present.

2- The Bonesetter’s Daughter

The Bonesetter’s Daughter

Writer Ruth is American-born daughter of Lu Ling who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Lu Ling’s health is deteriorated and her behavior is unpredictable and Ruth while concerned over her mother’s health reluctantly agrees to get her mother’s journals translated into English. Upon translation; Ruth uncovers a whole new life of Lu Ling’s journey from a young and innocent woman to a brave survivor which has been till now unknown to her. Lu Ling’s established life in America emerged from family lies, heartbreak, secrets and sufferings during wartime China.

3- The House of Sand and Fog

The House of Sand and Fog

Kathy Nicolo is an addict who is in process of recovering and her husband has left her. Kathy is forced to live in her car as her house in California is seized mistakenly for non-payment of taxes and auctioned. Behrani is a former wealthy and powerful man from Iran who is currently a struggling immigrant hoping to get profit by selling this house. The two collide in a hard fought battle for the house and the results are drastic and unexpected.

4- The Namesake

The Namesake

The Namesake is story of Ganguli family of Calcutta transforming nervously into Americans. The traditional arranged wedding of Ashoke and Ashima Ganguli and then settling in Cambridge, Massachusetts and adaption of Ashoke to the American life than Ashima is described in this novel. Their son is named after a Russian writer and he has this dual burden of his odd name and heritage to carry. Writer Jhumpa Lahiri describes insightfully the defining power of the name and expectations of the parents as well as the means via which slowly and painfully one comes to define himself.

5- The Joy Luck Club

The Joy Luck Club

A story based on four Chinese women in 1949 who come together due to their past and start meeting in San Francisco to play Mahjong along with other activities. They call their meeting Joy Luck Club and a relationship is developed between them which is strong enough to bind them together for more than thirty years.

6- Persepolis

Persepolis

This novel is written by Marjane Satrapi and it is a powerful memoir of her growing up in Iran during Islamic Revolution. Decorated with black and white comic strip images, her life in Tehran from six to fourteen years of age during which regime of Shah was overthrown, Islamic Revolution triumphed and effects of war with Iraq is described. As the grand-granddaughter of the last emperor of Iran, Persepolis is personal, politically profound and an original story of growing up and reminding humans the cost of war and political repression as well as the introduction of little irresistible girl who you will fall in love with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *