site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fantasy - Top 6 Books Like A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

Top 6 Books Like A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

A Song of Ice and Fire is a series of books in the epic fantasy genre written by American novelist George R. R. Martin. First in the series “A Game of Thrones” was published in 1996 followed by “A Clash of Kings”, “A Storm of Swords”, “A Feast for Crows” and “A Dance with Dragons”. Upcoming novels in the series are “The Winds of Winter” and “A Dream of Spring”. The television adaptation named “Game of Thrones” has seen through five seasons and the sixth one is expected next year. The story takes you through fictional continents Westros and Essos. The fight for the throne starts with nine characters in the first novel and has extended between thirty-one by the fifth novel. If you have read all the available novels in the series and looking for similar books like A Song of Ice and Fire, the following are a few useful suggestions.

1- The Inheritance Trilogy

The Inheritance Trilogy

Written by N. K. Jemisin, the first book in the trilogy “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms” won Locus Award for Best First Novel as well as the World Fantasy Award in addition to many awards for the complete trilogy itself. The other two books in this trilogy are “The Broken Kingdoms” and “The Kingdom of Gods”.

2- The Mistborn Series

The Mistborn Series

It is a series of epic fantasy novels by American author Brandon Sanderson. The three original books in this trilogy are Mistborn: The Final Empire, Mistborn: The Well of Ascension, Mistborn: The Hero of Ages. The trilogy is followed by Wax and Wayne and standalone novels so if you find the trilogy interesting and want to read more then you have the option to continue with Mistborn: The Alloy of Law, Mistborn: Shadows of Self, Mistborn: Bands of Mourning and Mistborn: The Lost Metal.

3- The Temeraire Series

The Temeraire Series

Written by Naomi Novik, this historic fantasy series consists of eight novels. “His Majesty’s Dragon” in 2007 won Compton Crook Award for best novel in fiction and fantasy category. The novel is an alternate history of Napoleonic Wars in a fantasy world where dragons are used in aerial combat. Following the first novel “Throne of Jade” was published. Next in line were “Black Powder War”, “Empire of Ivory”, “Victory of Eagles”, “Tongues of Serpents”, “Crucible of Gold” and “Blood of Tyrants” while “League of Dragons” is expected in the next year.

4- The Demon Cycle

The Demon Cycle

It is a fantasy novel series written by American author Peter V. Brett and the first part of “The Demon Cycle” is the novel “The Painted Man” titled in US as “The Warded Man”. The novel was selected by Amazon.co.uk as one of the top science, fiction and fantasy books of 2008. Second in the sequel is “The Desert Spear” released in 2010 while the third volume titled as “The Daylight War” was released in 2013. This series for now is planned to be five books long but who knows when the author decides to take it an extra mile.

5- The Kingkiller Chronicle

The Kingkiller Chronicle

This fantasy trilogy is written by Patrick Rothfuss and the first two books in the series are released while the third book is still in progress but not date for its release has been given. The first two novels are titled as “Day One: The Name of the Wind” and “Day Two: The Wise Man’s Fear” while the third one with working title “Day Three: The Doors of Stone” is being waited for.

6- The Codex Alera Series

The Codex Alera Series

Authored by Jim Butcher, who is one of the modern fantasy’s bestselling author with his “Codex Alera” and “Dresden Files” series. Codex Alera series features good and bad magic powers along with a compelling hero and potent enemies threatening the humanity. Six novels are published in Codex Alera series having titles “Furies of Calderon”, “Academ’s Fury”, “Cursor’s Fury”, “Captain’s Fury”, “Princeps’ Fury” and “First Lord’s Fury”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *