site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fiction - Top 7 More Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth

Top 7 More Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth

Truly speaking, those people are very lucky and blessed who became the apple of one’s eye with their first step. Divergent is the work of such a 26 years old Veronica Roth, an American novelist. Divergent is based on the science fiction, dystopia, romance, thrill and young-adult fiction. Authors and story writers compare this novel with ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘The Maze Runner’ because it has the similar themes as these two have. A film based on the story and title of book has been released in March 21, 2014 that got huge success like its original book. If you like Divergent then you must read below mentioned books that also contains the science fiction, dystopia, and young-adult fiction.

  1. Delirium:

delirium-lauren-oliverLike its meaning “acute confusional state”, Delirium is a dystopian, romance and young-adult fiction novel that is written by Lauren Oliver. An interesting story of a young girl who falls in love of an Invalid (a person who lives in the wilds) in such a place where love is considered as a disease. Commenting on the idea of writing Delirium, Oliver says that she write this novel after getting inspired from the essay of ‘Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ where he said, “all books were about either love or death”. The book has got positive review from both Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal.

  1. The Eternity Cure:

eternity cure bookThe Eternity Cure is the part of ‘Blood of Eden’ series. It is one of the best young adult, dystopian, and vampire novels of American author Julie Kagawa. In fact, whole Blood of Eden series is worth to read but this part is the special one. The story is about a teenage girl that is living in the world of vampires and is trying to survive there. The novel contains the elements of science fiction as well. Surely, the author has write the novel with well measured mastery style. This novel is surely like Divergent with one extra touch of the world of vampires.

  1. The Hunger Games:

hunger games bookAlthough The Hunger Games contains the elements of adventure, dystopian, and science fiction as compare to romance but still the books can be regarded as the book like Divergent. It is the work of an American author Suzanne Collins. The story is nearly similar to some extent to the plot of ‘Battle Royale (1999)’ but still it has been praised for strong storyline and character development. The Hunger Games has been published in over 38 countries in 26 international languages. Other part of the series ‘Catching Fire’ and ‘Mockingjay’ are also worth to read.

  1. Blood Red Road:

blood red road bookIt is hard to say either it is the work of Moira Young or the version of Divergent. But the fact is that it is the first book of Moira Young that is nevertheless in competition with the dystopian and science fiction style of Divergent. Blood Red Road is a post-apocalyptic fiction novel of Moira Young that is the story of a small family, a father, two sisters and twin brothers. The story revolves around the life of elder sister Saba and her brothers who is finding the killers of her father and protecting her brothers and sisters too. The book has been selected for movie under the same name by Ridley Scott.

  1. The Maze Runner:

the maze runner bookFirst book in the list that is the creative work of young adult fiction, science fiction, and post-apocalyptic dystopian at the same time. Reviewing about The Maze Runner, Kirkus Reviews states: “Hard to put down, this clearly just a first installment, and it will leave readers dying to find out what comes next.” On the other side, Deseret Morning News states it “a thrilling adventurous book for kids ages 13+ that will get readers’ heart pumping and leave them asking for more.” No doubt, The Maze Runner is a mastery work that will keep you reading.

  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go:

The Knife of Never Letting GoAmerican and British authors have done a lot in writing real science fiction and young adult books and novels. The Knife of Never Letting Go is another book that is like Divergent. The Guardian has commented on the author of the book Patrick Ness as: “He turned to children’s fiction after he had the idea for a world where it is impossible to escape information overload, and knew it was right for teenagers.” An interesting story of a small world that has been set by a group of Christian settlers, where boys change into men after thirteen cycles of thirteen months.

  1. Under the Never Sky:

Under the Never SkyUnder the Never Sky is the debuted book of the Veronica Rossi that is about the story of a two teens, a girl and a boy who are living in a protected city. A masterpiece of young adult, romance, science fiction, and dystopian by the author. The books is surely like Divergent as it contains all four basic elements that are present in Divergent namely: young adult, romance, science fiction and dystopian. Under the Never Sky has the record of listing in both USA Today and the New York Times Bestsellers.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *