site stats
Sunday , November 19 2017
Home - Adventure - 6 More Books like Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

6 More Books like Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

The Harry Potter is a pack of seven mystery, young adult-fiction, thriller, and fantasy books written by an English author J. K. Rowling. The series contains the interesting and magical adventures of three students of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Since the release of first of book titled as ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’, all books of the series have gained huge popularity, acclaim and success around the world. Up to June 2015, over 450 million copies of the Harry Potter have been sold in 73 international languages. Moreover, all books have the record of being “The Bestselling Book Series in History”. Following are the books that are as mystical and adventurous as like Harry Potter.

  1. The Night Circus:

The Night CircusA book whose enchanting can never be minimized. As popular as Harry Potter. It is The Night Circus written by American author Erin Morgenstern. It is a phantasmagorical tail of the Circus of Dreams. Publishers and Book Reviewers has compared this book with ‘Harry Potter’, ‘Twilight’, ‘Neil Gaiman’, ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’, and ‘Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell’. After reading Harry Potter, you must read this book. This book is no doubt the hallmark of mystery, thrillers, romance, suspense, magic, fantasy, and adventure. It will surely amaze you.

  1. The Lightning Thief:

The Lightning ThiefAnother fantasy and adventure book that covers the theme of Greek mythology. It is The Lightning Thief that is first young adult book of Rick Riordan. It is the first episode of the Percy Jackson & The Olympians series. An adventure story of the magic world that is based on the scenes of 21st century. A 12 year old boy who thinks he is a demigod. A story to stop the three war gods ‘Zeus’, ‘Poseidon’ and ‘Hades’ from fighting. Book has almost collected positive reviews. Common Sense Media states: “There are two levels of fun in the book. One is the fast-paced quest of a young hero and his friends to save the world. Other fun here the wicked ways adopted by the author how he updates the gods and monsters for 21st century.”

  1. The Magicians:

The MagiciansThe next book that is like Harry Potter is The Magicians. The book is regarded as high fantasy and parallel universe type of book. The theme of the story is like that of Harry Potter. But that doesn’t mean that it will bore you as author has presented the story – of a young boy who admits in a magic college in New York – in his own style. Publishers declared it the “A” category book for its best urban fantasy presentation. The best remarks came from the New York Times as: “The Magicians could crudely be labeled a ‘Harry Potter for adults’, injecting ‘mature themes’ into fantasy literature.

  1. American Gods:

American GodsThose who are looking for mixtures of classical and modern mythology are suggested to read American Gods if they have read Harry Potter. This book is twist of Americana, fantasy, adventures, suspense and magic. The center point of the book is on the mysterious and taciturn Shadow. It is written by American author Neil Gaiman. The mastery and creative work of Gaiman resulted in the various awards – Hugo, Locus, Bram Stoker, Nebula, and SFX Magazine Award – for American Gods. Those who have already read American Gods are given good news that Gaiman has announced that he is working on the sequel of American Gods under the title of ‘American Gods 2’.

  1. Northern Lights:

Northern Lights bookNorthern Lights also known by the name of ‘The Golden Compass’ is the next best book that is like Harry Potter. The Northern Lights is the mastery work of British author Philip Pullman. The books is popular for containing the elements of children’s fantasy and steampunk. The books is about the story of Lyra Belacqua who is travelling to Arctic in search of her missing friend – Roger Parslow – and her captivated uncle – Lord Asriel – who has been conducting experiments with an element ‘Dust’. The books has been topped in the list of Publishers Weekly Book of the Year, Horn Book Fanfare Honor Book, and Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book.

  1. The Blue Sword:

The Blue SwordThe Blue Sword is the story of Harry. But it is not Harry of Harry Potter. Harry is an orphan girl in The Blue Sword who become Harimad-sol – King’s Reader – and was given a Blue Sword, Gonturan. The Blue Sword is the creative work of American author Robin McKinley. This book is nevertheless like Harry Potter for its chemistry of fantasy, magic, adventure and thrillers. A perfect story of a female warrior. The book has received the awards of Newbery Honor Award, ALA Notable Children’s Book and ALA Best Book for Young Adults.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *