site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fantasy - 5 More Books Like A Discovery Of Witches by Deborah Harkness

5 More Books Like A Discovery Of Witches by Deborah Harkness

‘A Discovery of Witches’ is the first book in ‘All Souls Trilogy’ written by Deborah Harkness. The novel is about a vampire, a witch and the mysterious manuscript drawing all three together. Diana Bishop is a young scholar who during her research unwittingly finds a bewitched book and after taking some notes she put it back into the stacks. She did not intend to do anything with the sorcery or magic but her discovery stirs up the underworld and daemons, witches and vampires soon raid the library. Now she becomes the only one who can break the spell. If you are one of those who are under the magic of ‘A Discovery of Witches’ and want to read some more books similar to this one, you are at the right place.

1- Witches of East End

Witches of East End

This novel is written by Melissa de la Cruz and it is the first one in her Beauchamp Family series. Joanna Beauchamp and her daughters Freya and Ingrid are immortal witches living near the coast of Long Island for centuries. Due to their family’s involvement in Salem Witch Trials, they are cursed to spend rest of their life without being able to exercise their substantial powers. Joanna has the power to heal and bring dead back to life, Freya has the power to craft potions and charms while Ingrid has the power to tell the future and weave magical knotwork. Now the ‘Long Island witches’ are struggling against dark powers busy in conspiring against them.

2- The Magicians

The Magicians

Quentin Coldwater is a high school student with high IQ but low social skills who gets accepted in an exclusive but secret college for magicians. Soon he realizes that his fantasy coming true is not going to solve all his problems. He gets bored from learning magic when during a class some otherworldly horror comes to the college and eats a student. After graduation Quentin along with his friends go to Fillory, a fantasy land where they discover that The Beast that ate a student in their college is here and it is none other than Martin Chatwin, the eldest child from Fillory family who sacrificed his humanity to stay in the magical world.

3- The Southern Vampire Mysteries Series

The Southern Vampire Mysteries Series

This fantasy novel series is written by Charlaine Harris and it is about Sookie Stackhouse. She is a telepath working as a waitress in fictional town Bon Temps. This series of novels has it all from vampires to shapeshifters, humans to fairies, wiccans to witches and magic. It is a must read for those who loved ‘A Discovery of Witches’.

4- The Night Circus

The Night Circus

This fantasy-magic fairytale is set in Victorian London where a magical wandering circus opens from sunset to sunrise. ‘Le Cirque des Reves’ is the circus of dreams featuring wonders and ethereal enigmas like blooming garden made of ice, acrobats soaring without nets and vertical cloud maze. Without any schedule, the circus suddenly appears and suddenly leaves. Behind all this circus show, there is a dark purpose.

5- The Historian

The Historian

This is the debut novel of Elizabeth Kostova. She was told the stories of Dracula by her father during her childhood and she decided to turn that experience into a novel. She worked for 10 years on the book and then sold it for US$2 million to Little, Brown and Company. This novel interweaves history of folklore of Vlad Tepes ‘Vlad the Impaler’ who was a 15th century prince of Wallachia and his fictional equivalent Count Dracula. The novel takes you through 1930s, 1950s and 1970s and the tale is told from perspective of Paul’s daughter. Paul is a professor who is on a quest for Vlad’s tomb along with his daughter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *