site stats
Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home - Fantasy - 11 Best Books Like A Game Of Thrones – George R.R. Martin

11 Best Books Like A Game Of Thrones – George R.R. Martin

This fantasy book straddling the line of mystical and believable written by George R.R. Martin is indeed magnificent and that is why over sixty million copies of this book are sold worldwide. After you have read this book, you will want to read some more books similar to ‘Game of Thrones’ and this list is compiled for you.

1- The Iron King

The Iron King

Iron King is stranded in a web of scandals and murders nonetheless his downfall is coming in an unexpected way. Pursuing a powerful Knights Templar, he sentences Grand Master Jacques Molay to be burned that draws upon him a curse that will destroy his whole dynasty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2- The Dagger and the Coin: The Dragon’s Path

The Dagger and the Coin, The Dragon’s Path

Cithrin is an orphan girl who escapes with Marcus, a former general from city that is under siege in this epic fantasy series. A traveling theatre troupe helps them escape but now both of them have to smuggle treasury of the lost city through an area under fierce war. Armies are seeking the riches and kings want both of them dead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3- The Lyra Novels Series

The Lyra Novels Series

The main characteristic of this series of novels is that every book in the series is a stand-alone and can be read in any order you want. The setting of the novels is in a world with many different cultures and religions with three different non-human races. First book in the series is about Princess Alethia who is kidnapped after her 20th birthday. She has to return to her kingdom relying on her knife-throwing skills and old legends of magic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4- The Reluctant Swordsman

The Reluctant Swordsman

In the first book of ‘The Seventh Sword’ series, Wallie Smith wakes up in a world of priests and barbarians who need his help. Before waking up in this world, Wallie was a normal boy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5- The Time of the Dark

The Time of the Dark

This book is part of ‘The Darwath Series’ where a medieval history student Gil Patterson has realistic dreams about a kingdom. The kingdom is under siege and Gil find herself on epic quest to save the kingdom from Dark in this complex, powerful and atmospheric novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6- The Crystal Gryphon

The Crystal Gryphon

Kerovan is the descendant of the ‘Old Ones’ as he was born with amber eyes and cloven hooves. He is different from everyone and he is valuable as well. Soon he is called upon to fight an evil that is threatening the entire kingdom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7- The Hero and the Crown

The Hero and the Crown

Princess Aerin is the daughter of a reputed witch who enchanted the king but she is an outcast in her father’s court. She has a chance to prove herself if she can wield the power of the Blue Sword and defeat the last of the great dragons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8- Deerskin

Deerskin

The queen on her deathbed takes a promise from the king that he will marry someone as beautiful as she is. Princess Lissar is their only daughter and when the king announces that he will marry his daughter, she flees and makes her way in new life overcoming physical and psychological trauma.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9- The Worm Ouroboros

The Worm Ouroboros

Imagination of war, witchcraft, adventure, bloodshed, conspiracy and intrigue is at its best in this novel. Lord Juss is a domineering king who is at war with his challengers. This book has influenced the work of authors like J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Ursula K. Le Guin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

10- The Bruce Trilogy

The Bruce Trilogy

This novel describes Scotland in 1290 when there is no king and two families named the Bruces and the Balliols are trying to take the throne. Robert the Bruce in an increasingly unstable Scotland struggles to secure the crown and face different enemies during his quest. His troubles got magnified when he fell in love with Elizabeth de Burgh who is the daughter of one of his rivals.

 

 

 

 

 

11- A Song for Arbonne

A Song for Arbonne

A panoramic medieval world is portrayed in this novel with the land of Arbonne renting a feud between two powerful dukes named Bertran de Talair and Urte de Miraval over long-dead Aelis. She is the wife of one duke while lover of the other and heir to the country’s throne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *