site stats
Thursday , June 7 2018
Home - Adventure - 10 Adventure Books like The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

10 Adventure Books like The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings is a fantasy and adventure novel written by one of the most successful English authors J. R. R. Tolkien. It is basically like the sequel to The Hobbit as the story starts from there, but it is far bigger and more developed than The Hobbit. The Lord of the Rings is one of the best-selling novels whose one hundred and fifty million copies have been sold so far. If you have read The Lord of the Rings and want to enjoy great books like it then here are some suggested novels like The Lord of the Rings.

1. The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander

The Chronicles of Prydain is an award-winning novel of the Lloyd Alexander. It contains basically five books that got published fro, 1964 to 1969. The second episodes and the last episode of the novel had earned Newbery Honor. The Chronicles of Prydain belongs from the child literature class that’s is why regarded as the greatest contribution to children’s literature. After five to six decades, The Chronicles of Prydain is still popular fantasy novel.

2. The Well at the World’s End by William Morris

In this level, The Well at the World’s End made a diehard effort to prove he is really the master of high fantasy work. The Well at the World’s End got published in 1896 in classic era and even the fantasy, and adventure novels of today are unable to beat his popularity. The writer H. G. Wells praised the writing style of William Morris and compared the work to Malory. Even most of the work of J. R. R. Tolkien has been inspired by The Well at the World’s End.

3. The Ill-Made Mute by Cecilia Dart-Thornton

The Ill-Made Mute is the first book in The Bitterbynde trilogy. Entire series is outclassed, but when it comes to The Ill-Made Mute, then author Cecilia Dart-Thornton has made a great effort while crafting such a masterpiece. The Ill-Made Mute is the story of a mute person named Imrhien who is facing deformed face as a result of a poisonous plant. He is finding the cure to recover his lost memory and getting back his real face.

4. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind opens with a fantasy world. This fantasy and real fiction novel is the story of a swordfighter and magician named Kvothe. As the story progress, it will take you to the magic world. At first may be you get puzzled so we will like to remove it in advance. The Name of the Wind basically consists two timelines. The first part is in the present while the second one tells about the past that is like flashback and our character will tell the story himself.

5. Shadowmarch by Tad Williams

This novel will take you into the Kingdom of Marchlands. A Kingdom where the truce among dwarves, elves, and humans is unraveling. Most of the book reviewers and critics have the point of view that author Tad Williams has opened another of the intriguing, intricate sagas that are his stock in trade. Shadowmarch is really a page turner book where the interest enhances as the story grows.

6. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Eragon is simply the perfect novels for the fans of The Lord of the Rings. Wanna enjoys more, but in the same style and pattern that is adapted by the J. R. R. Tolkien in his The Lord of the Rings then you must give one try to the Eragon. Eragon is the story of a farm boy Eragon who discover a mysterious and magical stone in the mountain. He doesn’t know about the value of this stone and exchanges it with a butcher against a due payment and from here the story start.

7. The Demon King Cinda by Williams Chima

In The Demon King Cinda, author Williams Chima tried to connect the readers with a high fantasy world. The Demon King Cinda is a really cool book and has an in-depth synopsis. The Demon King Cinda is the part of The Seven Realms, and entire series is the masterpiece and great work of hard fantasy. The Demon King Cinda story is surrounded by the world of swordplay, medieval technology, castles and much more. You must read the entire series to get the real fun.

8. Stones of Power by David Gemmell

Stones of Power is a series of seven books whose theme line is much like The Lord of the Rings. Just like its name the series is based on a special item Stones of Power that is also called as the Sipstrassi. Here the story resembles that of The Lord of the Rings. The entire story of the series is sub-divided into interesting topics. The overall story is connected with each other, and next part of the series looks the sequel of the first one.

9. Incarnations of Immortality by Piers Anthony

Incarnations of Immortality is a series book containing eight different fantasy series. Each series of the book has its own beginning and ending. The story line is almost one that focuses on the nature of life. The other distinguish feature of the series is that it portrayed the magic and technology duality that will like by those who want to read scientific based magic technology. Incarnations of Immortality is the fine mixture of war, nature, death, time, fate, evil and good.

10. Sabriel by Garth Nix

The real art of Sabriel is that it attracts its readers and forces them to understand what the fine line between living and dead is. Sabriel itself is the name of the main character of the book. The story of the book has been crafted into the world of the old kingdom where the Abhorsen only knows how to keep the living safe from the dead. It is full of magic and technological content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.